Whenever my kids get playdough it seems to go missing and then reappear dried up under a piece of furniture.  One day I was home and we couldn’t find the latest batch of playdough so I decided to try to make some myself.  I looked on the internet and found many different recipes.  I found a recipe on Teachnet.com that seemed easy.

I mixed flour, warm water, cream of tartar, vegetable oil, and salt in a medium-sized pot. Then, I added food coloring.  I heated this mixture on the stove over medium heat until it clumped up like a ball of playdough.

I let the dough cool on the counter and then I put it in the refrigerator for about 10-15 minutes.

The playdough firmed up and had the consistency of store bought playdough.

Then I had a few minutes of peace and quiet.  Thank you, playdough.

Homemade Playdough

adapted from Teachnet.com

1 cup of flour

1 cup of warm water

2 teaspoons of cream of tartar

1 teaspoon vegetable oil

1/4 cup salt

food coloring

1.  Mix ingredients, adding food coloring last.  Stir over medium heat until clumpy.

2. Remove pan and place ball of playdough on the counter to cool.  Place in a place bag or airtight container in the refrigerator for 10-15 minutes.

3.  When done playing with playdough, store in the refrigerator in a plastic bag for next time.

