We are in the middle of soup season and I thought it would be nice to whip up a healthy and filling bowl of soup before soccer practice.  I needed to make something quick and easy. I perused my cookbooks and found this recipe from The Splendid Table’s How to Eat Supper.  I started with fresh and canned vegetables and chicken stock.

I chopped the vegetables up and put everything a big pot.

And, added my secret weapon — a Parmigiano-Reggiano rind.

I then added a tiny star pasta.  My son wanted chicken, so I added a cooked dino chicken on top of his soup.

I sprinkled parmesan cheese on my soup.

I’m glad I have some soup leftover because I’m looking forward to having some more today for lunch.  This soup is they type of meal that just gets better the next day.

Minestrone with Stars

Adapted from The Splendid Table’s How to Eat Supper

8 cups of chicken broth

1 cup canned whole tomatoes, crushed in your hands

2 large garlic cloves, minced

1 medium onion, chopped

One 15 ounce can chickpeas, rinsed and drained

2 handfuls of rainbow chard leaves (no stem), chopped

1/3 tight-packed cup fresh basil leaves, fine chopped

1 cup (or more) tiny pasta (alphabets, orzo, or stars)

Salt and fresh-ground black pepper

1 cup or more fresh-grated Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese

1 rind of Parmigiano-Reggiano (0ptional)

1.  In a 6-quart pot combine broth and tomatoes.  Simmer, uncovered, for 5 minutes.  Add the garlic, onion, chickpeas, chard, basil, and rind of Parmigiano-Reggiano.  Simmer, partially covered for 20 minutes.

2.  Stir in the pasta and simmer, partially covered, for 6 minutes or until the pasta is tender.  Taste the soup for seasoning, adding salt and pepper as needed.  Serve hot, passing the cheese at the table.

