Yakisoba is Japanese for fried noodles.  They are fried in only a bit of oil; so, I think of them as stir fried.  This dish came to Japan from China and is very similar to chow mein.  I used yakisoba noodles that I got from my local Asian market, 99 Ranch.  You could also use the Chinese egg noodles that are available at most grocery stores.  Or, you could use spaghetti noodles.  The only problem is that spaghetti noodles take 10-12 minutes to cook and yakisoba noodles, or other cooked Asian noodles, take only 2 minutes to cook.  Then, there is the issue of meat.  In Japan, this dish is typically made by cooking thin pieces of pork in a pan, removing the pork,  and then adding the other ingredients.  I’m not a bit fan of cooking meat; so, my yakisoba has only vegetables and noodles.  You could cook some thinly sliced pork or chicken in the pan and remove the meat before adding the vegetables.  Then, at the end add the meat to all the other ingredients.

Back to the recipe.  First, I prepared my veggies.  I chopped an onion and two cloves of garlic.  I thinly sliced some baby carrots.  Then, I removed some napa cabbage leaves from the stem and thinly sliced the leaves.  I heated a large pan on high heat and added all the vegetables.

Then, I assembled my sauce.  The sauce was a mix of:  dark soy sauce, low sodium soy sauce, Worcestershire sauce, toasted sesame oil, chili garlic paste, and agave.  The dark soy sauce is thick and adds a richness to the sauce; however, you could just use 5 tablespoons of low sodium soy sauce and skip the dark soy sauce.  I let the vegetables cook until they were soft and I removed them from the pan.  I added about 2 cups of water to the hot pan and let the water boil on high heat.  I added the noodles to the boiling water, stirred them,  and let them cook for about 2 minutes.  I drained the noodles.

I put the noodles, vegetables, and sauce into the pan and cooked it over high heat for a few minutes.  I stirred all the ingredients until they were completely mixed together.  Then, I sprinkled some sesame seeds on them.  I love toasted sesame seeds so I went a bit crazy with them — add as much as you like.

I put the noodles in a bowl and added more sesame seeds.

Yakisoba (or Japanese Stir Fried Noodles)

Ingredients

8 ounces of soba noodles

3 tablespoons low sodium soy sauce

2 tablespoons dark soy sauce

1 teaspoon of Worcestershire sauce

1 1/2 – 2 teaspoons of chili garlic sauce

1 teaspoon of agave nectar

1 teaspoon toasted sesame oil

1 1/2 tablespoons of vegetable oil

1 small onion, peeled and chopped

2 garlic cloves, chopped

2 carrots or a handful of baby carrots, peeled and thinly sliced

1/2 head of napa cabbage

1 tablespoon (or more) of toasted sesame seeds

1.  Heat the vegetable oil in a large skillet or wok over medium-high heat.  Add the vegetables and cook for 3-5 minutes, stirring frequently, until the vegetables begin to soften and brown slightly.  Remove the vegetables from the skillet or wok.

2.  Mix the soy sauces, Worchestershire sauce, chili garlic sauce, agave nectar, and toasted sesame oil in a small bowl.  Set aside.

3.  Add 2 cups of water to the hot skillet or wok.  Bring water to a boil over high heat.  Add the noodles and stir continuously until the noodles have separated from each other and are cooked — about 2 minutes.  Drain noodles.

4.  Return vegetables and noodles to the skillet or wok and cook over medium-high heat.  Add the sauce and mix well until noodles and vegetables are covered in the sauce.  Sprinkle toasted sesame seeds on top.

