Note:  I used Chard and Kale from my CSA box for this recipe.

I was falling behind on my chard and kale consumption from my CSA box.  I think I had focused on the other veggies and neglected my greens.  I was reading Tassajara:  Dinners & Desserts and came across this recipe.  It reminded me that I just bought a new tin of garam masala and I should use it before it loses its flavor.  Garam Masala is a basic blend of ground spices used in North Indian and other South Asian cooking.  It has a lot of flavor but isn’t spicy.  I like it because you can give a dish a lot of flavor without having to buy several different spices.  If you want to experiment with Indian inspired dishes and home and you don’t want to invest in a whole new set of spices — purchasing some garam masala is a good place to start.

First, I assembled my ingredients:  onion, garlic, ginger, chickpeas, tomatoes, chard, kale, (and the star of the show) garam masala.

The onions cook in the oil for about 5 minutes — until they are brown.  Then, the ginger, garlic and garam masala go in the skillet.  The chopped greens go into the pot and they cook with a bit of chicken broth for about 20 minutes.  To finish, add the chickpeas and tomatoes and let that simmer for 10 minutes or up to 30 minutes.

Serve on some basmati rice and sprinkle some fresh cilantro on top.  Satisfying, delicious, healthy, with very little effort.



Chard, Chickpea & Tomato Stew with Garam Masala

Inspired by  Tassajara:  Dinners & Desserts by Dale & Melissa Kent

Ingredients

1 bunch of chard or kale, chopped

1 cups of canned tomatoes (or chopped fresh tomatoes)

1 14 ounce can of chickpeas (drained and rinsed)

1 onion, chopped

2 cloves of garlic, chopped

2 teaspoons of fresh ginger, minced

1 tablespoon of garam masala

1 1/2 tablespoons of vegetable oil

1/2 cup of chicken broth or water

chopped cilantro for garnish (optional)

1. Heat the oil in a large pan over medium high heat.  Add onion and cook until brown around the edges – about 5 minutes.  Add garlic and ginger and garam masala.  Cook for 30 seconds.

2.  Add chard and/or kale cook for about 10 minutes until wilted.  Add chicken stock or water, lower heat, and simmer covered for 10 minutes.  Add chickpeas and tomatoes and simmer for 10 minutes or up to 30 minutes.

3.  Serve on steamed basmatic rice and garnish with chopped cilantro.

