Making jam can be easy.  Especially, if you make small batches that you keep in the refrigerator.  I had a bunch of strawberries and some peaches that were getting past their prime and I thought I would get out some bell jars and experiment.  I think the small batch method is also a good way to try out different flavor combinations without having to make a ton of jars of a jam that you may not like or may need some modification.  This was so easy that I plan on trying out several different types of strawberry jam before I do a major canning at the end of the summer.

So, this is a pretty easy process.  The fruit does need to simmer for an hour; so, it isn’t quick.  But, while the fruit is simmering you really don’t have to pay attention to it.  The first step, is to cut up the fruit.  I just chopped the strawberries and peaches.  Add quite a bit of sugar and then whatever spice you like.  I added a cinnamon stick and some lemon zest.

After the jam has simmered for an hour the fruit will have broken down and it will look like jam.

At this point, I stirred in a bit of lemon juice and let the jam cool.

Then, I put the jam in jars and placed them in the refrigerator.

The next morning I made crepes and poured some of my fresh strawberry peach jam on it.  It was delicious.  I highly recommend you try this out.  It doesn’t take much effort and then you have jam with the exact type of fruit and spice that you like.  I will keep you posted on any other flavor combinations that work out.  And, please let me know if you have any favorite jam recipes.

Strawberry & Peach Refrigerator Jam with Cinnamon
Ingredients
4-6 cups of strawberries, chopped with stems removed
2 peaches, chopped and pitted
1 cup of sugar
1 lemon
1 cinnamon stick
Combine strawberries, peaches, sugar, the cinnamon stick, and a bit of lemon peel in a medium saucepan.  Bring to a boil over medium-high heat, stirring frequently.  Reduce heat to low and simmer 1 hour or until thick, stirring occasionally.  Remove from heat and stir in 2 teaspoons of lemon juice.  Cool to room temperature.  Put in jars and refrigerate until ready to serve.  Refrigerate any leftovers.  Can stay in the refrigerator for about 1 month.
