Making zucchini bread is not a sneaky way to get our kids to eat vegetables; rather, it is a sneaky way for kids to get their parents (who otherwise insist on healthy snacks) to make them a cake and let them eat it in the middle of the day.  Anyway, making zucchini bread is a good way to use all the delicious zucchini that is available this time of year; and, make a snack your kids (and the adults in your home) will love.  I got this recipe from Martha Stewart’s website.  It is easy (for a non-baker like myself) and really good.

First, I grated a large zucchini on the large holes of a box grater.  I put it on a paper towel to absorb some of the moisture.

In a large bowl, I whisked together granulated sugar and light brown sugar, some vegetable oil, vanilla, and 2 large eggs.  In a small bowl, I mixed together flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, nutmeg, ground ginger, ground cloves, and salt.

Then, I added the flour mixture to the egg mixture, and stirred to combine well.

Then, I stirred in the grated zucchini.

I baked it in a loaf pan (that I sprayed with cooking spray) at 350 degrees for 45-50 minutes.  I cooled on a wire rack for as long as I could get my children to wait for it to cool.

Then, I sat back and watched them enjoy eating their vegetables.

Zucchini Spice Bread

From marthastewart.com

Ingredients

Nonstick cooking spray

1 large zucchini

1 cup packed light-brown sugar

2 tablespoons granulated sugar

2/3 cup of vegetable oil

2 teaspoons of vanilla extract

2 large eggs

1 1/2 cups of all purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon of baking powder

1/2 teaspoon of baking soda

1 1/2 teaspoons of ground cinnamon

3/4 teaspoon of nutmeg

1/2 teaspoon of ground ginger

1/2 teaspoon of ground cloves

3/4 teaspoon salt

1.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Lightly coat a 9 X 5 X 3 inch loaf pan with cooking spray, and set aside.  Grate zucchini on the large holes of a box grater (to yield 1 3/4 cups); set aside.  In a large bowl, whisk together sugars, oil, vanilla, and eggs.

2.  Into a small bowl, mix together flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, cloves, and salt.  Add flour mixture to egg mixture, and stir to combine well.  Stir in grated zucchini.

3.  Pour batter into prepared pan, spreading evenly.  Bake until a toothpick inserted in the center of the loaf comes out clean, about 45-55 minutes.  Cool in pan 10 minutes; invert onto a wire rack, then reinvert, top side up.  Cool completely before slicing.

