I have been experimenting with various skillet mac and cheese recipes.  My goal was to find a recipe that is as easy or easier then the stuff in the box.  I was discussing my quest with my friend (and co-conspirator in the kitchen) Eva.  She said that she just puts cream cheese and shredded cheese on hot pasta to make a mac and cheese for her daughter.  Based on this information, I went to the internet and searched for recipes that had pasta and cream cheese and I stumbled upon a recipe on food.com that made a sauce for pasta by putting milk, parmesan cheese, and cream cheese in the microwave.  The microwave!  I always forget to use my microwave.  So, I took the food.com recipe, tweaked it a bit, and created this recipe that is so easy that a 3 year old can make it in 10 minutes or less (depending on the cooking time for the pasta).

First, fill a large pot with water and bring it to a boil.  Put the pasta of your choice in the pot of boiling water and cook it according to the instructions on the box.  I prefer small shapes like macaroni, shells, bow ties, etc.  Then, put 6-8 ounces of cream cheese in a medium-size bowl with 3/4 cup of milk, 1/2 cup of parmesan cheese, and about 3/4 cup of shredded cheddar cheese.  Put the cheese mixture in the microwave for about 2 minutes.  The sauce should look smooth and creamy.

At this point, I add a bit more shredded cheddar cheese and stir it into the sauce.  This isn’t necessary; but, I am a cheese freak and I like my mac and cheese extra cheesy.  When the pasta is ready — drain it.

Pour the cheese sauce over the hot pasta and stir well.

Enjoy!

The only problem with this recipe is that it may be too good and too easy.  I find myself making it at odd hours of the day when no one else is around.  And, when I am not making it — I am thinking about making it.  So, be careful!

10 Minute Mac & Cheese

Ingredients

6-8 ounces of cream cheese, cubed

3/4 cup of milk (I use non fat)

1/2 cup of grated parmesan cheese

1- 1 1/2 cups of shredded cheddar cheese

1 pound of pasta (preferably small shapes)

Directions

1.  Boil a large pot of water and cook the pasta according to instructions on the packaging.

2.  Put cream cheese, milk, parmesan cheese, and 3/4 cup of cheddar cheese in the microwave for about 2 minutes.  Check the sauce after 1 1/2 minutes to make sure it isn’t overcooked.  When the sauce is smooth and creamy take it out of the microwave.  Stir in more shredded cheddar cheese to taste.

3.  Pour cheese sauce over pasta and stir well.


