I couldn’t avoid making Matzo Brei this year.  The editor of Bon Appetit had an article about it.  Then, the grocery stores started stocking matzo for Passover.  I couldn’t resist.  Matzo by itself is pretty bland; but, if you add a bit of egg, fry it in a bit of vegetable oil, and sprinkle some sugar on top, it is really good.  I used the recipe from Bon Appetit; because, I don’t have a written recipe.  My Bubbie didn’t believe in using measuring cups or spoons or writing recipes down.  The Bon Appetit recipe makes a pancake type of fried matzo.  My Bubbie and my Mom made more of a scrambled matzo; so, that is what I did.

I took 5 matzos, ripped them into 1/2 inch pieces, and soaked them in hot water for 30 seconds.  This was enough for 4 people. If you want to make more just add more matzos.  I then beat 5 eggs (you need one egg per sheet of matzo) in a large bowl and added a bit of salt.  I drained the matzo and added it to the egg and salt to form a chunky batter.

I heated 2 tablespoons of vegetables oil in a large skillet over medium heat.  Then, added the matzo batter in a single layer.  The rest of the process is very similar to scrambling eggs.  Let the batter sit for a minute or so and then keep stirring until the egg is cooked.

Top with sugar, jam, maple syrup — whatever you like.  We always had sugar sprinkled on ours.  I guess I don’t use sugar very often; because, when my daughter ate her matzo she said, “Mama, this salt tastes really good.”

Enjoy!

Matzo Brei

from Bon Appetit Magazine, April 2012

4 servings

Ingredients

5 matzos

5 eggs

salt

2 tablespoons of vegetable oil

sugar, maple syrup, or jam for drizzling on top

1.  Break the matzo into 1/2 inch pieces and soak in hot water for 30 seconds.  Drain the matzo.

2.  Beat 5 eggs in a large bowl, season with a bit of salt.  Add drained matzo to the bowl; mix until combined and a wet batter forms.

3.  Heat the oil in a large skillet over medium heat.  Add the matzo mixture in a single layer.  Let the matzo mixture set for a minute or so.  Then stir around the mixture until the egg looks cooked.  Sprinkle with sugar, jam, or syrup.  Serve.


