I don’t really like fish; but, I love noodles and veggies. My husband brought home some Ahi tuna the other night. So, I made up a dish that made us both happy. I had just bought some dried soba noodles, carrots, and avocado. I was thinking maybe something Japanese. I consulted my favorite Japanese cookbook Everyday Harumi:  Simple Japanese Food for Family & Friends by Harumi Kurihara and came up with this dish.

It looks complicated; but, it is really easy.  The first thing I did was make the banno sauce.  To make the banno sauce:  In a small saucepan, bring 1/2 cup of mirin to a boil, then reduce the heat and cook for a further 2-3 minutes over low heat to burn off the alcohol.  Remove from the heat and add 1 1/2 cups of soy sauce and one 4-inch piece of kombu seaweed.  Cool and refrigerate.

Then, I turned my attention to the Ahi tuna.  I heated up my gas grill to 500 degrees.

I brushed grape seed oil on both sides of the fish.  You can also use vegetable oil.  Then, I rubbed a lot of kosher and black pepper on each side.  I grilled the fish on direct heat for 2 minutes on each side.  You want to watch the fish; because, you want to make sure it stays nice and pink in the middle.  I let the fish sit for a bit after I cooked it.  Then, I sliced it thinly against the grain.

Then, I boiled the soba noodles according to the instruction on the packet.  That took about 8 minutes.  I tossed the noodles in grape seed oil to make sure they didn’t stick together.  I thinly sliced the carrots and sliced the avocado.

I placed everything neatly on the plate and we had a great meal.  Feel free to substitute other vegetable or even use baked/grilled tofu instead of the fish.  I think cucumber would be really good in this dish.

Banno Soy Sauce

from Everyday Harumi by Harumi Kurihara

Ingredients

1/2 cup mirin

1 1/4 cups soy sauce

4 inch piece kombu seaweed (dried kelp), wiped of any salty deposits

In a small saucepan, bring the miring to a boil, then reduce the heat and cook for a further 2-3 minutes over low heat to burn off the alcohol.  Remove from the heat and add the soy sauce and kombu.  Cool and refrigerate

Grilled Ahi Tuna

Ingredients

2 large Ahi Tuna steaks

grape seed oil or vegetable oil

kosher salt

black pepper

Heat the grill to 500 degrees.  Brush the steaks with oil and both sides.  Rub a generous amount of salt and pepper on both sides.  Place the steaks on direct heat and grill for 2 minutes on each side.  Let fish rest for 10 minutes then thinly slice against the grain.

